What type of alimony can you receive in your divorce?

On Behalf of | Jun 28, 2024 | Divorce |

During divorce proceedings, a key concern for many individuals is financial stability. In Kentucky, determining alimony is a significant aspect of the process. Understanding the different types of alimony can help you navigate these challenging times.

Temporary alimony 

Also known as “pendente lite” support, temporary alimony provides immediate financial assistance to the lower-earning spouse during the divorce. This type of spousal support helps maintain the standard of living until the courts finalize the divorce and make a permanent arrangement.

Rehabilitative alimony

Rehabilitative alimony helps the receiving spouse become self-sufficient. Courts often award it when one spouse needs financial assistance to pursue education or training to re-enter the workforce. This type of support is typically limited in duration and aimed at fostering personal, financial independence.

Permanent alimony 

In certain cases, especially in long-term marriages, the court may award permanent alimony. This type of support continues until either party dies or the recipient’s spouse remarries. Permanent alimony is usually granted when one spouse has significantly less earning capacity.

Reimbursement alimony

Reimbursement alimony is awarded when one spouse financially supports the other through education or career advancement, expecting future benefits. This type of alimony reimburses the supporting spouse for their contributions to the other’s education or job training.

Deciding the type and amount of alimony is complex and is affected by many different factors. By understanding these different types of spousal maintenance, you can better prepare for the financial aspects of your divorce proceedings and work towards a fair outcome.